Czech Republic hosting 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship


The Czech Republic is hosting the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship which runs from May 1st to May 17, 2015. The tournament, entering its 79th year, will feature 16 teams, including consistent contenders Russia, Canada, and the United States. Also included this year are newcomers Slovenia and Austria, which were promoted from the 2014 Division I Group A. The tournament will be played in two arenas: the O2 Arena in Prague which can fit 18 000 fans and the CEZ ARENA in Ostrava which has a capacity over 12 000 people. The puck will drop in the first face-off on Friday, May 1, with the Czechs facing Sweden in their opening match.